

Location: ONLINE

Call To Order: 7:00pm

Members in attendance:

Marlo Alcock Navil Bajina Sergio Calderon Kirsty Campbell Shelagh Carlini Donna Corbett Judi Cragg Anne Currie O'Brien Joey Ferguson Christine Fraser Barb Iones Neill Kernohan Dave Kouhi Lori Moritz Andrew Pawarroo Maria Puigbonet Io-Anne Pulfer Shawn Rocheleau Gerri Sefi **Iason Silzer** Nathan Soini Crystal Steeves Cara Telfer Vicki Tompkins Bruce Williamson Holly Williamson

Guests:

Lynette Fairweather Edward Powers

Steve Wolfer

1. Steve Wolfer, President, opened the meeting with the Indigenous Land Acknowledgement.

We would like to start by acknowledging that we are on the traditional territories of the Wendat, the Haudenosaunee, and the Anishinaabe peoples, whose presence here continues to this day. We also would like to acknowledge that this is the treaty lands of the Mississaugas of the Credit and thank them and other Indigenous peoples for sharing this land with us. We would also like to acknowledge the Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nation as our closest Indigenous community.

We acknowledge this land and the people because the first step to reconciliation is recognizing the existence of Indigenous people. A shared understanding of how our collective past brought us to where we are today will help us walk together into a better future.

 Motion to Approve Agenda of June 22, 2020 Annual General Meeting Motion made by Gerri Sefi Seconded by Shawn Rocheleau CARRIED 3. Motion to Approve Minutes of June 17, 2019 Annual General Meeting

Motion made by Lori Moritz Seconded by Anne Currie O'Brien CARRIED

- 4. Reports (attached)
 - a. Steve Wolfer, President
 - b. Jason Silzer, VP Productions
 - c. Gerri Sefi, VP Finance

Jason Silzer asked a question about Rental Expense and what that entailed. Gerri Sefi answered that the Rental Expense was our Rental Technicians.

Maria Puigbonet asked a question about whether Theatre Aurora had any steady donors. Gerri Sefi answered that we had Meridian as a sponsor.

Lynette Fairweather asked about Box Office expenses. Gerri Sefi responded that it included both ArtsPeople fees and Box Office staff fees. Lynette also asked about the professional fee for the accountant. Gerri Sefi responded that it was for the audit of the 2018/2019 financial reports.

Marlo Alcock asked a question about reductions in insurance fees. Gerri Sefi responded she had contacted the insurance company but no reductions were forthcoming.

- d. Bruce Williamson, VP Operations
- 5. Motion to Accept the Reports as presented

Motion made by Judi Cragg Seconded by Maria Puigbonet CARRIED

6. Motion to Approve Auditor

Gerri Sefi moved that Theatre Aurora approve Brodeur Dennis as our Auditor for 2019/2020.

Seconded by Jason Silzer

CARRIED

- 7. Recognition and Awards
 - a. Outgoing Board Members

Neill Kernohan thanked and recognized both Bruce Williamson and Steve Wolfer as outgoing board members.

b. Producers and Directors of the 2019/2020 Season

The following people were thanked for their service during the 2019/2020 Season:

Blood Relations: Neill Kernohan, Producer; Sergio Calderon, Director

Assassins: Steve Wolfer, Producer; Neill Kernohan, Director

Les Liaisons Dangereuses: Judi Cragg, Producer; Jason Silzer, Director

The Tempest: Barb Jones, Producer; Kristopher Van Soelen, Director

c. ACT-CO Awards Nominees and Winners

The following people were acknowledged for the nominations and wins for the ACT-CO Thea Awards:

Nominated:

Bill Corcoran - Best Set Design (Assassins)

David Cardinal - Best Performance by a Male in a Supporting Role (Assassins)

Heather Nutt-Christensen - Best Costume Design (Assassins)

Company - Best Ensemble (Assassins)

Ivan Hutomo - Best Performance by a Male in a Leading Role (Assassins)

Company - 110% Above and Beyond (Adjudicator's Award) (Les Liaisons

Dangereuses)

Relations)

Joey Ferguson - 110% Above and Beyond (Adjudicator's Award) (The Tempest) Shelagh Hughes-Carlini - Best Performance by a Female in a Leading Role (Blood

Winners:

David Buffham - Best Lighting Design (Assassins)

Neill Kernohan - Outstanding Music & Stage Direction (Adjudicator's Award) (Assassins)

Sergio Calderon - Best Performance by a Male in a Leading Role (Assassins) Olivia Jon - Most Magical Moment (Adjudicator's Award) (The Tempest) John Hunter - Best Sound Design (The Tempest)

d. Dick Illingworth Award + Scholarship

The following person was acknowledged as the recipient of the Dick Illingworth Award and Scholarship:

Cerys Ford

e. ACT-CO President's Award Nominations

The following people will be nominated as recipients of the ACT-CO President's Award:

David Buffham Dave Kouhi

f. Founder's Cup

The Founder's Cup for 2019/2020 is awarded to Joey Ferguson.

8. Election of the Board

a. The nominating committee brought forward the following names for election to the Board of Directors of Theatre Aurora:

President (Two Year Term) - Nominee: Jason Silzer

VP Productions (1 Year Term) - No nominees

VP Operations (2 Year Term) - No nominees

VP Finance (2 year term) - Nominee: Gerri Sefi

Marketing Director (2 Year Term) - Nominee: Vicki Tompkins

Communications Director (2 Year Term) - No nominees

Sales Director (2 Year Term) - Nominee: Kirsty Campbell

Director at Large (2 Year Term) - Nominee: Judi Cragg

b. Steve Wolfer called for any more nominations three times from the floor for President.

No nominations were forthcoming. Jason Silzer acclaimed.

- c. Steve Wolfer called for nominations from the floor three times for the position of VP Productions. No nominations were forthcoming. The position will be vacant.
- d. Steve Wolfer called for nominations from the floor for the position of VP Operations. Maria Puigbonet nominated Dave Kouhi for VP Operations. Dave Kouhi respectfully declined the nomination.

Steve Wolfer called for nominations two more times from the floor. No nominations were forthcoming. The position will be vacant.

- e. Steve Wolfer called for any more nominations three times from the floor for VP Finance. No nominations were forthcoming. Gerri Sefi acclaimed.
- f. Steve Wolfer called for any more nominations three times from the floor for Marketing Director. No nominations were forthcoming. Vicki Tompkins acclaimed.
- g. Steve Wolfer called for nominations from the floor three times for the position of Communications Director. No nominations were forthcoming. The position will be vacant.
- h. Steve Wolfer called for any more nominations three times from the floor for Sales Director. No nominations were forthcoming. Kirsty Campbell acclaimed.
- i. Steve Wolfer called for any more nominations three times from the floor for Director at Large. No nominations were forthcoming. Judi Cragg acclaimed.
- 9. Introduction of the Board of Directors for 2020-2021

President: Jason Silzer

Vice President of Productions: Vacant Vice President of Operations: Vacant Vice President of Finance: Gerri Sefi Artistic Director: Sergio Calderon Marketing Director: Vicki Tompkins Communications Director: Vacant Technical Director: Nathan Soini Front of House: Lori Moritz Sales: Kirsty Campbell Director at Large: Judi Cragg Secretary: Neill Kernohan

10. New Business

No new business.

11. Motion to Adjourn

Motion made by Vicki Tompkins. Seconded by Barb Jones. Meeting was adjourned at 8 pm.